Adamson in softball Final Four

Publication: People’s Journal
Section: Sports
Date: October 18, 2012

MULTI-TITLED Adamson won twice yesterday to claim the first semifinal slot in Group A of the Cebuana Lhuillier National Intercollegiate women’s softball championship at the Rosario Sports Complex in Pasig City.

Twelve hours after dismantling Rizal Technological University, 10-0, on Tuesday night, the Lady Falcons returned to the field to blank Bulacan State University, 16-0, for their fourth straight victory and a place in the crossover semifinals.

Adamson, the defending champion which also won the UAAP and the National Open, is a cinch to collect its fifth win today against La Salle at the resumption of the tournament sponsored by Cebuana Lhuillier, Cebuana Pera Padala, Le Soleil de Boracay, Cebuana Lhuillier Insurance Solutions, Just Jewels and Phiten.

The San Marcelino-based Lady Falcons worked behind Julie Mari Muyco’s one-hit job and a 12-hit offensive to survive an early challenge put up by RTU to keep their record intact.

While Muyco, the fastball throwing younger sister of former no. 1 hurler, Cloiene, stood 10-feet tall on the mound, shortstop Queenie Sabobo, leftfielder Krisna Paguican, catcher Elvie Entrina and even their rookie teammates feasted on losing hurler Veronica Billeza.

Adamson needed four innings to finally tag Billeza, who held her own in the first four innings by limiting the Lady Falcons to only three hits and a run.

But as soon as coach Ana Santiago’s girls found their marks by tagging Billeza with five hits that produced five runs at the top of the fifth, there was no stopping the Lady Falcons, who erupted for four more runs in the sixth to turn what started as a tight match into a rout.

Like in their 29-0 mangling of Baguio City’s St. Louis University in the opening day on Monday, Santiago used her second stringers against Bulacan State, another out-of-town participant using the tournament to hone up for the coming regional meets on the way to representing their regions in next year’s Palarong Pambansa.