Summer Grand Slam 7

The Amateur Softball Association of the Philippines (ASAPHIL) opens the yearly Summer Grand Slam to interested teams. It will be held on May 1-7, 2013 in Clark Field, Pampanga. Over 27 teams are expected to join including the following teams: Adamson, University of the Philippines, National University, Rizal Technological University, Polytechnic University of the Philippines, University of Sto. Tomas, Central Luzon State University, Bulacan State University, Davao, Rizal, Ateneo, University of the Cordilleras Baguio, Makati City, Lasalle Zobel, Airforce, Cebu, Zamboanga, MS Marikina, Libjo Batangas, Baras Rizal, Ateneo Coach, and Pasig. Two foreign teams also expressed their interest to join which are Lakidende of Indonesia and Chikara of Brunei.

Summer Grand Slam is divided into Open and Club divisions which both have Men’s and Women’s category. It will follow a single round robin format. Winners of the open will get the following prizes: Champion – P30,000, 1st runner-up – P20,000, and 2nd runner-up – P10,000. Prizes for the Club division are as follows: Champion – P15,000, 1st runner-up – P10,000, and 2nd runner-up – P5,000.

“Summer Grand Slam provides a playing venue to players in and outside the Philippines to showcase and develop their softball skills. Mounting softball events like Summer Grand Slam is one of ASAPHIL’s way to also promote softball in the Philippines. We really believe that softball is a sport for Filipinos,” said ASAPHIL President Jean Henri Lhuillier.

For more information about Summer Grand Slam 7, please visit To register to Summer Grand Slam 7, please call ASAPHIL Operations Manager Jun Veloso at 09164938937 or email