Indonesian team grabs lead

THE visiting Indonesian team Lakidende, reinforced by Filipino, Canadian and Australian imports, took the solo lead in the men’s division in the ongoing Summer Grandslam National Softball Open Championships, inside the Clark Freeport Zone after posting back-to-back victories for a 4-0 slate.

Lakidende beat Cebu, 6-1, Thursday afternoon and held off a stubborn Philippine Air Force-2 team yesterday morning, winning 4-1.

PAF-1 occupied second place, posting a second win, 10-3, at the expense of sister team PAF-2.

Rizal Technological University finally broke into the winning column, blanking Cebu, 3-0 for its first win against two losses. RTU, Cebu, and PAF-2 sport similar 1-2 records.

In the women’s open division, another visiting team, Chikara from Brunei, bounced back from its loss to defending champion Adamson University, walloping University Athletic Association of the Philippines runner-up National University, 7-1, to even its record at 1-1.

Adamson (2-0), was playing University of the Philippines Diliman (1- 0) at press time, but was expected to post its third straight victory in the weeklong tournament backed by Cebuana Lhuillier, Clark Development Corporation, Phiten, Cebuana Lhuillier Insurance Solutions, Pera Padala, Just Jewels, and Le Soleil de Boracay.

RTU is tied with Chikara at 1-1, while NU remained winless after three starts.

Polytechnic University of the Philippines found itself on top of the standings in Group A of the women’s club competition after beating Cavite, 12-8, for its third win in as many games.

University of the East and Adamson University-B are tied for second with two wins apiece, playing two games Thursday afternoon.

UE blanked Laguna, 7-0, and followed it with another impressive 16-8 victory over Central Luzon State University, while Adamson University-B preyed on secondary school team Cabiao National High School, easily winning, 10-0.

In Group B of the women’s club competition, Ateneo de Manila, who edged out University of Sto. Tomas ( UST ) 6 – 4 , Bulacan State University ( BSU, an easy 6 – 1 winner over the young secondary team of De la Salle-Zobel, and Davao, which prevailed Over Makati City 11 – 5, are tied for first place with 2 – 0 records while UST dropped to 2 – 1.