Big cast in summer softball

People’s Journal
April 30, 2013

A TOTAL of 30 teams, including two foreign teams from Indonesia and Brunei, will see action in the week-long ASAPHIL-organized Softball Summer Grandslam 2013 that starts may 1 at the Clark Freeport Zone with University of the Philippines playing Rizal Technological University in the first game in the women’s Open Division, followed by the match between defending women’s champion Adamson University and National University.

Simple opening ceremonies will be held after the first game with Clark Development Corporation (CD) president Atty. Arthur Tugade delivering the welcome remarks followed by the message from ASAPHIL sec-gen Danny Francisco, Tugade and Francisco will also do the ceremonial pitch.

“The Summer Grandslam provides playing venue to players in and outside the Philippines to develop and showcase their softball skills. Holding events like this is ASAPHIL’s way of promoting softball for both school-based and provincial teams. I believe softball is a sport for Filipinos,” said ASAPHIL president Jean Henri Lhuillier.

The other women’s team seeing action in the women’s open is Chikara-Brunei while there are also five teams in the men’s open group, consisting of Philippine Air Force teams 1 and 2, Cebu, RTU, and visiting Lakidende from Indonesia.

At the club level of the annual tournament, sponsored by Cebuana Lhuillier, Pera Padala, Phiten, Le Soleil de Boracay, Cebuana Lhuillier Insurance Solutions, and Cebuana Lhuillier Bank, a record 15 women’s teams are entered, Adamson University, UE, PUP, University of the Cordilleras-Baguio, Cavite Province, Manila, Laguna, Cabiao National High School, Ateneo de Manila, Central Luzon State U, Bulacan State University, Davao, Makati High School and De La Salle- Zobel.

IN the men’s club level competition, teams are the Ateneo Coaches, Pasig, Marikina, Libjo-Batangas and Lakas Cebuana from Agoncillo, Batangas.