7-Game Schedule Kicks Off Women’s Softball Tourney

Manila Standard Today | October 19, 2013

A heavy seven-game schedule to be played in two fields in Marikina signals the start of the weeklong Cebuana Lhuillier National Women’s Inter-Collegiate Softball Championship.

Defending champion Adamson University opens defense of its crown against Bulacan State University at 8 a.m. in Group A, while last year’s runner-up Rizal Technological University plays University of Sto. Tomas in Group B.

Other Group A games at the Barangka softball field feature University of the Philippines against Polytechnic University of the Philippines, Ateneo de Danila versus Philippine Normal University, and De La Salle University tangling with PUP.

In Group B, National University tests visiting Central Philippines University, prior to the RTU-UST game, while NU returns to action in the third game against another provincial team, Central Luzon State University in Sto. Nino, Marikina.

The event, which was first revived in 2007, but went into a hiatus for the next four years, is being held for the third time during the term of current ASAPHIL president and sportsman-businessman Jean Henri Lhuillier.

“With schools being the main source of talents for the women’s national team, ASAPHIL has decided to make the women’s intercollegiate tournament an annual event. This is a good link between our youth developmental programs like the Batang Pinoy and Palarong Pambansa and the national team,” explained ASAPHIL Operations Manager Jun Veloso, who added that last year, only 12 teams competed to this year’s 13-team cast.

Source: www.manilastandardtoday.com