Women's Softball Tourney Slated

The Philippine Star | October 21, 2013

A seven-game bill ushers in the Cebuana Lhuillier National Women’s Inter-Collegiate Softball Championship with defending champion Adamson University taking on Bulacan State University in Group A and last year’s runner-up Rizal Technological University facing University of Sto. Tomas in Group B in two fields in Marikina.

Other Group A games at the Barangka softball field pit University of the Philippines against Polytechnic University of the Philippines, Ateneo versus Philippine Normal University, and De La Salle University against PUP.

In other Group B matches, National University collides with visiting Central Philippine University before RTU-UST clash while NU returns to action against another provincial team, Central Luzon State University, in Sto. Nino, Marikina.

The event, first revived in 2007 but went on a four-year hiatus, is being held for the third time during the term of current ASAPHIL president and sportsman-businessman Jean Henri Lhuillier.

With schools being the main source of talents for the women’s national team, ASAPHIL has decided to make the women’s intercollegiate tournament an annual event,” said ASAPHIL operations manager Jun Veloso. “This is a good link between our youth developmental programs like the Batang Pinoy and Palarong Pambansa and the national team.”

Gracing the event are Marikina Mayor Del de Guzman, Lhuillier and ASAPHIL secretary general Danny Francisco.