Makati, Sta. Maria, Bulacan lead Cebuana Lhuillier-ASAPHIL 2016 18 and Under National Women's Softball Championship

The Cebuana Lhuillier- Amateur Softball Association of the Philippines (ASAPHIL) 18 and Under National Women’s Softball Tournament entered its 9th season this year with stellar performances from teams representing Makati City and Sta. Maria, Bulacan.

Staying undefeated, Makati City and Sta, Maria, Bulacan currently lead the standings after claiming their 8th and 6th wins, respectively. Other teams that are showing promise are Rizal, 6-1, and Bacolod City, 6-2.

Nineteen teams from various parts of the country are competing with each other in 81 games from December 8 to 18 (with top teams facing off for the semi-finals on December 17) at the Sto. Nino Softball Field and the Barangka Softball Field in Marikina City for this season.

Other teams participating in this year’s tournament are Camarines Sur, Cavite, International Little League Association of Manila, Laguna, Laoag city, Manila, Miriam Tuguegarao, Dasmariñas City, Nueva Ecija, Pasig City, Sarangani, San Francisco High School of Quezon City, San Miguel, Bulacan, Tanuan City, and Valenzuela City.

“It’s another exciting season for Cebuana Lhuillier-ASAPHIL 18 and Under National Women's Softball Tournament as the top softball teams gathered together to face equally tough opponents from all over the country. It will be fun to see how each team grows throughout the tournament and witness how much they have improved from last year. We hope to form the best team from this pool of talents and send them as our country’s representative for the upcoming international softball competitions,” ASAPHIL President and Cebuana Lhuillier President and CEO Jean Henri Lhuillier said.

This 10-day long tournament is expected to produce top players that would qualify and compete in the Junior Women's Softball World Championship (age 19-and-under) slated on July 24-30, 2017 in Clearwater Florida.

Early frontrunners include Ma. Charlotte Narces Sales from Makati, Mary Joy Maguad and Neo May Mahinay of Bacolod City, Kimberly Angeles from Dasmariñas City, Cleofe Magsano of the Rizal team, Alma Tauli of the Sta. Maria, Bulacan team, and Janina Biance Hernandez of Manila.